RSS

Queen Victoria Market

12 Mar

Although I am in Melbourne for school, my adventure in Australia includes not only school, but also learning to live on my own, fend for myself and enjoy while I’m at it! Part of this “fending for myself” includes me cooking and hence doing groceries. This is where a story comes in:

Over the past month that I’ve been in Melbourne, I have found many treasures this city has to offer other than beauty. One of them is the Queen Victoria Market. This market honestly has everything you could possibly think of from fruits and veggies to jumpers (sweaters) and belts. It’s open Tuesdays, Thurs – Sundays, and on Wednesday nights there is a “night market” which is a great place to get some cheap and tasty dinner! (No cooking involved!)

I’ve gotten into a routine that involves me going to the QV Market once a week to get my fruits and vegetables. Doing so saves me heaps of money as I can choose exactly what I want and the quantity! There are so many to choose from, and colourful due to the many different kinds. Because of the amount of vendors selling the same fruits/veggies, each vendor has to attract their own customers, and the way I’ve seen this being done is by yelling out prices of their items for everyone to hear in hopes of getting more customers. Today I went to the markets with my camera to capture some photos so you can visualize what I am talking about.

Like I mentioned, there is everything possible in these markets. During my walk about today, I noticed wine tasting (with Australian wine); chickens for sale (and the eggs they laid right beside them); Australian souveniers; fruit baskets; handcrafts etc!

So, if in the future, you are ever in Melbourne for an extended period of time (or even a short period) the Queen Victoria Market is one that you don’t want to miss! Just pack your patience because it could be a little hectic at times, but that’s part of the fun!

Cheers. xx

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Queen Victoria Market

  1. gostudyinaustralia

    March 14, 2011 at 2:46 AM

    Try the hummus at the market. Fabulous!

     

Leave a Reply

 
