RSS

Aussie Commercials

31 May

Alright so I’ve blogged about Aussie tele, so now it’s time for me to talk about the commercials. To say the least, the ones here are very different to the ones we get back home… they are more “out there” Take that however you interpret, but I have found that the people reading the commercials out to you speak in such a way that engrains what they are promoting in your brain. From the little bit of marketing that I’ve done in my life, I’d say that this is very good, because now when I see a shop on the street I think of the jingle or the slogan that goes with it.

Here are some examples – and if your Aussie, you’ll definately recognize some if not all of them!

Harvey Norman – I don’t even know what they sell (I think furniture?) but the jingle is a very high pitched chick saying/singing “Go Harvey Norman GOOOOO”
KFC – After they say their bit about what they are promoting, they start say “sooooo” and then make the 3rd ‘o’ a ‘g’ and the last ‘o’ a ‘d’ to make it “so good” (Except in an Aussie accent it sounds like “sooy guud”
Maccas – McDonalds they’ve started this new branding here that is “not fancy, just a little bit Schmancy”
Hungry Jacks – Aus’ equivalent of the place in North America with the Whopper (can’t remember the name at the moment) – “The burgers are better at Hungry Jacks”
Bunnings – There is no specific jingle to this one, but the person that explains prices is one of those that literally yells IN YOUR FACE! He’s like “5 DAYS ONLY, $399 YOU CAN’T BEAT THAT.

These are all I can think of out of the top of my head, but I will be sure to edit this post when I gather a few more after watching some tv!

In the meantime, here is a link to another blog post that sums up the top 10 greatest Aussie commercials… Some are hilarious! (Airplane Jelly – shoutout to Brendan :)) Although some don’t work they are still funny! http://anthillonline.com/the-top-10-greatest-australian-television-commercials-ever/

Good luck to everyone doing exams!! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
